Today’s subject is VPN’s, now I’ve been a bit sceptical of VPN’s for quite some time as the last one I had from VPNUnlimited was in my own words f**king awful, my average wifi speed during peak time is around 50Mbps download and 19Mbps upload and with VPNUnlimited I was losing a massive amount of speed and most times around 30Mbps which is a massive amount as let’s face it if your paying an ISP each month for certain speeds the last thing you need is some VPN throttling your speeds and making your viewing or downloading a misery. 

So along came WiredVPN who have been all over Twitter in the last few weeks promising users better speeds and true Internet Privacy so I gave them an opportunity to put up or shut up and they confidently replied with “Yeah sure go for it” they gave me a log in and told me to install from the repo, so I did and also this VPN works on Android via a APK or you can use on iOS using the OpenVPN Connect app to install the profiles for which ever country you wish to connect through, so if you choose New York from the list on their site it will install the profile then you just connect to that profile from within the OpenVPN Connect app and that’s it your connected, with the Android APK it’s even easier than that, you can install either the APK directly to your Android device or install it via a Kodi repo and once done you just enter credentials and log in and select country and connect and that’s it your connected, pretty simple. 

Now we’ll get on to performance, first of all a lot of VPN services aren’t as safe as you’d think and still leak your information but with WiredVPN I can confirm that this isn’t the case as I did an enhanced DNS Leak Test (thanks to Knighty for the suggestion) and all the results came back with what you’d expect from a premium service and I was completely covered and no information was leaked so that’s a big bonus as if you use Torrents and other methods then knowing your safe will give you great piece of mind. Now we get on to speeds, I did a couple of examples and I’ll post results below and I found on average I lost maybe 5-9Mbps maximum and in one instance my VPN speed was quicker than my ISP lol. 

So to sum up the experience so far I’ve been very impressed and when I saw WiredVPN making all these promises I kind of hoped I’d be able to pull it to pieces but I honestly can’t at all as it’s performed very well with everything I’ve put it through. WiredVPN hope to have their Android App in the Google PlayStore very soon and as I said before if you are on iOS then you can use the OpenVPN app which I’ll provide a link for and I’ll also be providing you all a link to the WiredVPN site. Now your probably going to think it’s quite expensive but with all the crackdown on piracy lately how much is too much to keep you under the radar as my Nana use to say “You get what you pay for” and it’s absolutely right, WiredVPN will do everything you need it to do at every step.

Speed test done without VPN at peak time by my ISP.

Speed Test with WiredVPN turned on.
 

To install the APK from Kodi to your android device then add this repo to Filemanager http://wiredvpnrepo.com then install from zip and choose the WiredVPN repo, once you’ve done this you can install both the Android APK or the Kodi Addon. 
For more information make sure you head over to the WiredVPN website at http://www.WiredVPN.com also if on an iOS device then you will need the OpenVPN Connect app https://appsto.re/gb/nVhmJ.i and then you will be sorted for VPN on your iOS devices, each WiredVPN account covers 10 devices where as a lot of others only do 5. Check it out for yourself and I’ve found it to be reliable, if it wasn’t good I’d say so as I’m not afraid to point things out when they’re wrong. I found a small dip on Saturday night on the London server but this was while London was under attack, the next day it was fine and there is plenty of other countries to connect to.